Row Wrapper 2

Pier Splendor

3.5000
(4 Reviews)

Capacity

1 Bedroom
2 Bath
Sleeps 6

Search Availability

About

Come and put your feet up and listen to the waves! This One bedroom Two bathroom unit, sleeps six. Unit has a King bed, Queen sleeper sofa and a twin set of bunk beds in a bunk nook in the hall way. Calypso Has two outdoor pools (heating seasonally), Tiki Bar (Seasonal) and a fitness center. Has Plenty of parking in the parking garage with gate code, has a sky walk on the third level! Calypso does have 15 minute parking in front of the resort for unloading you vehicle. Pier Park shopping complex is directly across the street walking distance! Or you can take a walk down the pier located right next door to calypso!

*GUEST ARE REQUIRED TO PAY $10.00 PER PARKING PASS STARTING YOU WILL BE EMAILED A LINK ALONG WITH YOUR ARRIVAL INFORMATION TO PAY FOR THOSE PASSES AND PRINT THEM OUT BEFORE YOUR ARRIVAL. YOU MUST HAVE THEM TO GET INTO THE PARKING GARAGE UPON YOUR ARRIVAL AND DURING YOUR STAY.

View the Calypso Beach Cam:

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
December 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
March 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
August 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
September 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
November 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 

Map

Reviews

Leave a Review

Very dirty condo

August 2019
, St. Louis, MO US

Overall
2
Services from rental manager
3
Cleanliness
1
Location
5
Property condition
1

Property location is great. Property was very dirty when we came in. I called to report but didn't get anyone to call me back. Furniture is very outdated it definitely needs an upgrade. The biggest issue was how dirty it was....ceiling fan in the bedroom had layers of dust as well as the fridge, floors haven't been swept in months.

Manager's Response

Hey Sasa, I am glad that we were very helpful to you during your stay! I did receive a phone call at 11:09 pm at night regarding parking passes. We did get back to you about not receiving parking passes in your email & we resent that to you. You never told us of any issues cleanliness wise on the property. If we would have been notified you were unhappy with the cleaning. We would have sent the house keeper back to make sure the unit was up to your satisfaction. These units are inspected before arrival. We have had guests in this property all season, the floors have been done between each guests arrival. Occasionally the housekeeper can miss some sand on the floors. The ceiling fans are running when the housekeeper is the unit cleaning, we will make sure those are taken care of now. Thank you for letting us know. Our apologizes you were unsatisfied with the rental. We would love to change your experience by you coming back again!

Not a 'Splendor' in my opinion

August 2019
, Newburgh, IN United States

Overall
3
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
2
Location
5
Property condition
3

Inconvenient getting to/from parking garage to condo. Room had sand all over floors when we checked in and I spent 45 minutes trying to clean it up. Saw 2 bugs in kitchen upon arrival. Condo doesn't even provide hand soap by sinks.

Manager's Response

Hello Natalie, We apologize you were unhappy with your rental! The units are inspected before guest arrival. Pest control on site goes into property when a guest is not in the unit. If they came in and sprayed after the fact of it being checked, we did not see the dead bugs. If we would have been contacted during your stay we would have been more than willing to get someone in the unit to fix what was wrong. We will most definitely relay this to our housekeeping staff. We do not provide soaps in the rentals, just your basics to get you started - trash bag per can, paper towels, roll of toilet paper per bath, 2 laundry pods & 2 dishwasher pods. This is also listed in the Rental Agreement that we send out & have singed before arrival. We would love to change your experience by you coming back to stay with us!

Calypso

July 2019
, Portageville , MO US

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The unit was in a perfect location for walking to Pier Park. Upon arrival the unit was clean and ready. The property manger was very helpful and quick to answer any questions.

Manager's Response

Thank you so much Tonya for your review! We are happy to help as we are needed! We hope to see you back!

Stay during Jazz Fest

April 2019
, Pittsburgh, PA US

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

Very good with one exception
No air conditioning for 24 hours--housekeeping needs to check before next guest arrives

Manager's Response

Thank you Judith for your review! We do apologize about the Hvac system not working. The onsite had shut it off without notifying us, They were able to get it on the next day for you! I am glad you enjoyed you vacation! We hope to see you again!